Until last week I’d never heard of beta readers before. Beta testers for games, yes, but beta readers? Now that was a new concept! (for me, anyway)

source

Not entirely, of course. I had thought about asking some friends – friends who I know can be brutally honest with me – to read Rise of the Sparrows once it’s finished before I go any further, but actual beta readers? The concept is so simple and makes so much sense I don’t know how I’ve never heard of it before now, but there it is.

So, my question to you! Have you used beta readers before, or have you been a beta reader yourself? What are the most important things to look out for, and who do you ask? Do you ask people you know or do you go over forums, or another way yet?

Likewise, I’d love to be a beta reader myself but just a warning – I’m ruthless. Which is what you’d want. I also don’t really have the time so I shouldn’t even be offering, but I might be willing to make an exception here and there πŸ™‚

~Sarina

