This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

WWW Wednesday

I joined in for the first time two weeks ago and am so glad that I did, because the community for this is amazing ❀ Book people are good people.

Sometimes my reading time is limited so instead of posting every week I’ll do it every two weeks, so you don’t have to read the same update twice! πŸ™‚ Depending on the length of some of the books I want to read I might not even manage that.

All posts will be in the same category as my reviews – Books I Love

All links will get you the book’s Goodreads listing.

***

What I’m currently reading

WWW 130116.1

Warheart

I’m not very far into this book yet since I only started it last Saturday, so I won’t say much today. It’s been a fantastic adventure since Wizard’s First Rule, and while I know I’ll miss my favourites (if they are still alive by the end of this book) I’m looking forward to meeting new characters, too. It’s been an awesome, long ride and I can’t wait/am reluctant to see how it all ends.

Do NOT read the blurb if you don’t want to spoil things the way I’ve spoiled it for myself! Just keep scrolling! Ignore that it’s there!

Blurb:

Soulmates, pawns of prophecy and inheritors of an ancient conflict, Richard and Kahlan’s destinies have been bound together since their first encounter in Wizard’s First Rule. But now Richard lies on a funeral bier – suspended between the worlds of life and death and Kahlan faces her greatest challenge.

She must fight for Richard’s very existence, and Richard, trapped in the underworld, must fight to keep the world of life from ending. Desperate sacrifices are required. This is the final battle in a war three-millennia old, a war that saw the Sword of Truth forged, a war that could mean the end, not only of their lives, but of their world.

self-printed

Self-Printed

With the release of my first novel just around the corner (no, it’s not that close… May is still a long way off, right? RIGHT?) I figured it couldn’t hurt to read through this again. I believe the picture here is from the copy we’ve got in my library, but I’ve bought my own copy since then which is more up to date and just as great a read. I’ve got a thing for books which make me laugh and educate me!

Blurb:

Do you think that no one has the right to stand between you and your published writer dreams? That the publishing industry is going down in flames and self-publishers are going to rise like a 99c phoenix from the ashes? That all literary agents are interested in doing is blogging sarcastically about the rhetorical question at the start of your query letter, that editors will just use your submitted manuscript for kindling and that you’ll be senile before you hear back from either of them? That once you’ve uploaded the book you finished yesterday afternoon to Amazon, it’ll be mere minutes before the money starts rolling in and you can quit your day job? Do you say things likegatekeepers, The Big Six, Dan Brown, legacy publishing and indie authors a lot? Are you self-publishing to “show them all”?Β Β Β If you’ve answered yes to one or more of these questions then I do apologise, but this isn’t the book for you.Β Β 

This book is for writers who consider self-publishing to be a good Plan B, or even a sideline to traditional publication. Who want to do it the cheapest and easiest way possible while still producing a quality product. Who understand that much like Starbucks outlets and Nespresso coffee machines, traditional and self-publishing can peacefully co-exist. Who know that they don’t have to sell a million copies of their book to start earning a living from their writing, but that they do have to work hard and treat it like a business. Who are blessed with common sense and live in the real world at least most of the time. Who find my jokes funny.Β Β If this sounds like you, then SELF-PRINTED: THE SANE PERSON’S GUIDE TO SELF-PUBLISHING may be just the “How To…” guide you were looking for. It will tell you everything you need to know in order to publish a Print On Demand paperback and e-book, and – crucially – sell them, without sounding like anti-Big Publishing propaganda produced by the Ministry of Truth.Β Β Be warned: you are now entering a No Saying “Gatekeepers” Zone… Β Visit SelfPrintedbook.com to see the full table of contents.Β Β 

***

What I recently finished reading

WWW 130116.2

Severed Souls

The full review will follow tomorrow so I won’t say much here, but I loved Severed Souls. So, so much. After the two books before this one I was a little reluctant, but Goodkind has smashed my expectations. It felt like one of his books again, the characters felt whole again, and I found it hard to put this one down.

 

Blurb:

From the far reaches of the D’Haran Empire, Bishop Hannis Arc and the ancient Emperor Sulachan lead a vast horde of Shun-Tuk and other depraved β€˜half-people’ into the Empire’s heart, raising an army of the dead in order to threaten the world of the living.

Meanwhile, far from home, Richard Rahl and Kahlan Amnell must defend themselves and their followers from a series of terrifying threats, despite a magical sickness that depletes their strength and which, if not cured, will take their lives…sooner rather than later.

***

What I think I’ll read next

WWW270116.1

The Name of the Wind

This was a Christmas gift from a close friend who knows what I love, so I’m really excited to start reading. I don’t know anything about it besides what the blurb says, but I trust her judgement πŸ™‚ (THANK YOU, SARAH!!)

Blurb:

Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen. The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature. A high-action story written with a poet’s hand, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that will transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard.

***

Have you read any of these and would like to chat about it? I look forward to hearing from you if you do – just leave a comment below and we can get this book club started!

