I’ve got quite a few things I want to mention this week. I’ve got a vote (sort of), a question for you all, and of course an excerpt!

But before I dive into any of that –

Earlier this week CookieBreak reached 100 followers. 100 genuine followers, who I didn’t bribe or beg or bought with chocolate to be here. 100 people who actually want to be here!

surprised cat

I can’t believe there are so many people who are interested in what I have to say! And I definitely can’t believe that some of you beautiful 100 people are excited for my book, too!!

Thank you SO much to all of you here. You all mean a lot to me and it’s because of you that I’m so committed to working my butt off over the coming weeks ❀

But enough of the cheesy stuff, no?

Let’s move on to actual book-related news.

Thanks to everyone who offered me their sympathy about my new medication. I’m feeling much better by now and will catch up with some of the things I was too tired to include last week πŸ™‚

This week I made a start on editing the entire draft for a second time? Third time? How do people know? I thought I’d be all right to just do it all on screen, but the newly added chapters needed a bit more work than that so I printed just those for a more thorough edit.

This is how it went:

editing progress 2

See all that red? But at least I didn’t cut the prologue again, so that’s a good start. Right? Right.

I’m trying to accept that short chapters are perfectly fine, and not stress about them needing to be longer. When I started writing again I thought that chapters had to be a certain length to be any good. I have no idea why that belief started but it’s hard to get it out now that it’s there. The series I’m reading right now – which I love – has a lot of very short chapters which is reassuring. I can’t say I ever read a book and thought ‘Huh, I wish this chapter had been longer’ so that’s reassuring, too.

Now, as you’ll have seen yesterday, I was interviewed! (if you missed it and would like to read the interview, have a look here) I was going to tell you, I swear I was, but Mercedes was so quick I never got the chance! I answered the questions on Wednesday and woke up on Thursday to the interview being posted, so, you see, there was no time πŸ™‚

It does give me a chance to mention that I’ve got another two interviews coming, though! I don’t know yet when they’ll be posted but I’ll keep you updated πŸ™‚ If any of you know of someone doing interviews let me know – there’s always room for one more!

mascot 6
It’s hard to edit when there’s a cat sitting on your draft. Yes, we’re back to that.

Now, onto my question and the (sort of) vote!

As you know the trilogy as a whole will be called Relics of Ar’Zac. Unless…. Well, I’ve done a lot of thinking this week (basically a bit of self-doubt has been settling in and I’m questioning everything about this writing thing) and now suddenly there are two options! So, which one do you, as my readers, prefer? Relics of Ar’Zac or Ruins of Ar’Zac? Let me know in the comments, I’ll keep a tally πŸ˜‰

My question was for those of you who write and use Instagram. Would you say that it’s a good platform for writers? Is a good marketing tool? I asked on twitter and on facebook earlier this week and had mixed responses, so I’m holding out for now. I don’t want to rush into anything extra to do every day if it’s not worth it.

But let’s wrap this up. I’ve kept you for long enough this morning, and you probably want a tea or a coffee by now. Next week I’ve got another trial short for you – like Bray’s story, but it’s one which has bugged me for longer. Keep your eyes out for it! πŸ™‚

But right now let’s move onto the excerpt.Β Enjoy! πŸ™‚

Fire. Everything around her was on fire. The hot sizzling of the flames devouring everything in their path did nothing to drown the screams of the injured. Rachael herself had hurt her leg in the fall. Careful not to make it worse she got up, putting as much weight on the bone as she could bear. She could stand, even if the pain sent white hot aches throughout her leg and up her body. At least it did not seem to be broken.

Relieved at the small victory, her eyes quickly searched the area. She couldn’t see anyone past the flames, never mind within their vicious circle. How was she supposed to get out now? If she as much as touched the fire she would burn to ashes, she was sure of it.

Looking around for something she might be able to use, she found nothing. There was no sign of Cale anywhere, either, or the other Sparrows. It would seem that Aeron’s plan had worked – she really was cut off from the rest.

β€œHow does it feel to be helpless?”

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”-

All content belongs to the author, Sarina Langer.

The gifs came from Giphy

For all previous updates on Rise of the Sparrowβ€˜s progress, click me!

For Cookie Break’s front page, take a look here.

