I haven’t got much to report this week – the most important and most exciting bit you saw yesterday, when I did the cover reveal – besides how I’m nearly ready to request a proof copy from CreateSpace and how I’ve really fallen behind with NaNo.

There isn’t a lot of editing left to do any more. We’re over half way there with the professional edit and I can’t do any more until I get the next set of changes from my editor. I’ll finish that early next week.

The only other thing would be the formatting! My book needs page numbers, acknowledgements and all that – speaking of which…

mascot 11

I’m dedicating Rise of the Sparrows to the mascot, the Sellybean πŸ™‚ She’s tried so hard to make writing impossible for me, but I managed to finish my novel regardless, so I thought she deserved the dedication πŸ™‚

And then I’ll be done! Assuming the proof copy comes back exactly as I hope it will, and I haven’t overlooked anything.

It’s crazy to think that this time next week the proof copy will be on its way to me and I’ll have finished the formatting for the eBook. The book is very nearly finished, guys. We’re very nearly there.

red panda
I couldn’t find a fitting gif so you get a red panda chewing excitedly instead. I hope it’ll do.

Once all that’s done I’ll have a lot of catching up to do with NaNo. I did make a little progress, and wrote 3,111 words on Relics of Ar’Zac Book 2, and a sad 2,104 on Immortals (temp. title). It’s not a lot of progress but it’s progress, and I’m trying to remember to look after myself as well.

But as long as I’ve got an excerpt for you, you don’t really mind, right? πŸ˜‰ So here you go – another excerpt from Immortals (temp. title), told from Dena’s perspective (imagine that Minae is from a race of humaoid cats, who can talk and otherwise behave like people, but her voice is raspy and kinda scratchy) :

β€œDid you run into trouble?” Minae asked.
β€œI believe you know the answer to that.”
β€œI only knew it wasn’t the headquarters when I sent you there. I knew they would know where to go.” She hesitated. “What kind of trouble?”
β€œA few boys with guns, and a pompous shit who loves his possessions more than his employees.”
β€œAh,” Minae said, β€œI am sorry. But you enjoyed yourself. I can hear it on your voice. It is as thick as the night here is dark.”
I sighed. β€œI did. Did you do it on purpose?”
A raspy chuckle answered me. β€œI saw you were sad. I decided to cheer you up. Did it work?”
I smiled despite myself. β€œIt did.”
β€œAnd what do we say to people who aid us?”
I pulled a face, knowing she knew me well enough to know that I was doing it. β€œThank you, Minae.”

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”-

All content belongs to the author, Sarina Langer.

The gifs came from Giphy

For all previous updates on Rise of the Sparrowβ€˜s progress, click me!

For Cookie Break’s front page, take a look here.

