WWW 15062016

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

WWW WednesdayThis meme will be categorised together with my book reviews. All links will get you to the book’s Goodreads listing, as always πŸ™‚

***

What I’m currently reading

Six of Crows

WWW040516.2

I couldn’t resist any longer!! πŸ˜€ After all these good reviews I’ve seen I had to read this next, and while I’m only about a third through I’m really enjoying it. It’s very fast paced, which is why I felt a little lost at the beginning. There is a lot going on and a lot of people are introduced in the same chapter, but by now I’m used to who everyone is. I think.

I probably won’t finish it and get the review written in time for next week Thursday, but I should have it up the week after that πŸ™‚

Blurb:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right priceβ€”and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destructionβ€”if they don’t kill each other first.

***

What I recently finished reading

TheMakingofGabrielDavenport

The Making of Gabriel Davenport

The Making of Gabriel Davenport is Lee’s debut novel, and wasn’t at all what I had expected – in all the right ways! I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I knew that I had to read this and I was not disappointed. The opening line was beautiful, and the tone for the book was set rather quickly. Overall it was a dark and fascinating read. Tomorrow I’ll be sharing my review here, so keep an eye out for that πŸ˜‰

Blurb:

In a house built on truth something lays hidden.

Beth and Stu Davenport moved to the English hillside town of Meadowford Bridge to give their young son, Gabriel, an idyllic, rural childhood. But in a single evening, the Davenports’ dream is shattered by a hidden, ancient darkness– and their lives are forever changed.

Years later, Gabriel Davenport, now a capable, curious young man, makes the ill-fated decision to go looking for answers about his mysterious past. As soon as he begins his quest, his life becomes a place of shadows. The people he loves and trusts are acting abnormally. The strange woman who lives upstairs is even more haunted than usual. Even his most trusted friend seems to be hiding something.

As one fateful night deepens, and the line blurs between darkness and light, Gabriel must confront the terrible events that destroyed his family all those years ago. He is faced with a choice: continue living the life that was never his to begin with, or give himself over to a terrifying new reality more sinister than anything he’s ever known.

The darkness is watching.

***

What I think I’ll read next

WWW040516.4

The 5th Wave

This has been waiting on my bookshelf for far too long! I already nearly picked it over Six of Crows, so I’m positive that I’ll read this one next. I’ve heard a lot of great things about it, and the blurb is amazing so I’m really looking forward to it. Right now I’m not sure if it’s a sci-fi novel or just another zombie apocalypse thing, but either way I’ll be speeding through Six of Crows to get to this.

Blurb:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Β ***

Have you read any of these and would like to chat about it? I look forward to hearing from you if you do – just leave a comment below and we can get this book club started!

