www-23112016

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

WWW WednesdayThis meme will be categorised together with my book reviews. All links will get you to the book’s Goodreads listing, as always 🙂

No outlandish amount of books in my post this week! We’re back to the normal three! 😀

***

What I’m currently reading

www-09112016-4

Fay Storms

I received an ARC of Fay Storms in exchange for an honest review.

So far it’s a bit of a slow start for me and the sentences are too long for my liking, but I like the characters, especially Fifer, and am looking forward to learning more about her. Because Fay Storms is out next month I’ll prioritise it to give me enough time to write a review for its release day. I’m hoping to get through it late this week.

Blurb:

Thief by trade. Half-breed by blood. Fifer is part-Fay and all pluck.

When her partner goes missing and she is abducted by demanding clients, Fifer finds herself trapped in a plot she wants no part of. By fulfilling her contract with the Aestus, the brotherhood of powerful and secretive warriors, she will discover that she’s not what she thinks.

The Aestus need her—even though Arkadius, Master in training, can’t see it. In order to stop the Aestus clans from warring among themselves, Arkadius must rely on Fifer to steal a powerful magical artifact. But how can a woman save the mighty Aestus? When he discovers the answer, the fate of the Empire will rest on the edge of his sword.

and

www-23112016-2

The Colour of Magic

I really wanted a light, witty, and maybe slightly silly read, and since I also wanted to read more Terry Pratchett (it’s a resolution for next year but why wait?) I thought I’d combine the two!

I’ve done this in an odd order. I’m sure I’ve read Books 2 and 3 earlier this year but The Colour of Magic was always out, so when I saw it available in my library I had to borrow it. So far it’s everything I knew it would be, and I’m enjoying it a lot ❤

 

 

Blurb:

In the beginning there was…a turtle.

Somewhere on the frontier between thought and reality exists the Discworld, a parallel time and place which might sound and smell very much like our own, but which looks completely different. Particularly as it’s carried though space on the back of a giant turtle (sex unknown). It plays by different rules.

But then, some things are the same everywhere. The Disc’s very existence is about to be threatened by a strange new blight: the world’s first tourist, upon whose survival rests the peace and prosperity of the land. Unfortunately, the person charged with maintaining that survival in the face of robbers, mercenaries and, well, Death, is a spectacularly inept wizard…

***

What I recently finished reading

www-09112016-2

Isle of Winds

This was so different to my first read by this author, which was an awesome urban gothic novel called Hell’s Teeth (you can check out my review here). This was light-hearted, magical and while it’s aimed at a younger audience than my usual reads I didn’t feel like it was too young for me. I really enjoyed this, and my review will be up next month 🙂

Blurb:

Isle of Winds is the first instalment in a Middle-Grade age fantasy series

Robin Fellows lives with his grandmother and lives what appears to be a rather ordinary life for a normal twelve year old boy.

But when Robin’s Gran dies, quite suddenly and a bit mysteriously, his world is turned upside down. A long lost relative comes out of the woodwork and whisks him away to a mysterious new home, Erlking Hall, a quiet estate in the solitary countryside of Lancashire.

Suddenly Robin must adjust to his new reality. But reality is no longer what he thought it was…

Erlking has many secrets – as do his newly found Great-Aunt Irene and her servants. After a strange encounter on the train and meeting a cold, eerie man on the platform, Robin begins to notice odd happenings at Erlking.

There is more than meets the eye to this old, rambling mansion.
Little does he know that there is more than meets the eye to himself.

Robin is the world’s last Changeling. He is descended from a mystic race of Fae-people, whose homeland, the Netherworlde, is caught in the throes of a terrible civil war.

Not only this, but in this new world there is a magical force that has infiltrated the human realm.

Before he can wrench power from the malevolent hands of the Netherworlde’s fearsome tyrant leader, Lady Eris, he must first search for the truth about himself and the ethereal Towers of Arcania.

The first instalment of The Changeling Series, Isle of Winds is an engrossing tale written in the traditions of high fantasy story-telling while carving out a magical new realm. It is perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings and the Harry Potter series.

***

What I think I’ll read next

So many options! It might be a spontaneous decision once I’ve finished Fay Storms, so I won’t declare anything now. If you keep an eye on my Instagram I might well ask for suggestions later this week 🙂 I’ve had so many short reads recently that I’m quite far ahead in my reviews now (my review of The Colour of Magic won’t be published here until January), so I’d like something longer… Not too many options there on my bookshelf, so I expect there won’t be much to choose from 🙂

 ***

Have you read any of these and would like to chat about it? I look forward to hearing from you if you do – just leave a comment below and we can get this book club started!

