banner-tuesday-29112016

I’ve had amazing luck with my reading this year. Most of the books I’ve read were either every bit as good as I’d hoped they’d be, or they’ve exceeded expectations! I’ve found some incredible new authors, some new favourites, and the forever shelf on my bookshelf has had quite a few new additions, too! Thanks to Goodreads next year promises to be just as exciting – but right now I’d like to look back over the best books I’ve read this year, and make some recommendations while I’m at it πŸ™‚

Watch out for the indie edition of this post in a couple of weeks, too! πŸ˜‰

TG1

WWW 130116.2

WWW 130116.1

 

Warheart marked the end of a long, wonderful series for me. In total there are 17 books, including the prequels, in the Sword of Truth series, so finishing it was bittersweet for me. I’d spend so much time in Goodkind’s world that moving on wasn’t easy, but at the same time I was excited to dive into something new. This was High Fantasy at its best for me, and I can’t recommend them enough! The first book is called Wizard’s First Rule – just be prepared for a long ride!

WWW 090216.2

I was drawn in by the cover and the blurb, although, I’ll admit, I thought this was about someone with DID (Dissociative Identity Disorder (split personality)) It’s not. It’s about a girl who literally splits into two every year around her birthday, and that makes this one hell of an emotional roller coaster! Don’t finish it in public. You’ll want chocolate, and a lot of tissues! (I can’t stress enough how many tissues you’ll need – or how much chocolate!)

WWW270116.1

WWW040516.1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I received The Name of the Wind as a Christmas gift a year ago. I hadn’t heard of it before andΒ its size was intimidating, which is why it waited a little longer on my shelf before I braved it. The second book is even longer, but if you want an Epic Fantasy story (you know you do, don’t live in denial!) then it doesn’t get much better than these! Once I’d started reading the length no longer bothered me. You know a book is good when you’re halfway through its 994 pages and wantΒ more!

WWW 090216.1

WWW 090316

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I admit, I had my difficulties with these two. They were slow starting for me, and they didn’t draw me in as much as they did everyone else, but they still deserve to be on here for the incredible world building, wonderful magic, and fantastic characters! If you haven’t read these yet you probably want to. Go on, treat yourself!

WWW040516.2

www-28092016

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do I need to say anything? Just read them. They were wonderful, fantastic, and everything I want in a book. Please read them. Read them now!

WWW040516.4

I actually hesitated putting this on here, because I saw the film afterwards and the film was terrible, and ruined it for me. But then I remembered the beautiful writing style, and remembered that the film did it an injustice. I really enjoyed this book, and think that you might, too. If you’ve seen the film, ignore it. The book is so. Much. Better!

WWW27072016.2

The Ocean at the End of the Lane was everything you might expect from a Neil Gaiman novel – Magical and wonderful, and it did something not many books manage. It left me feelingΒ empty. It stayed with me for a while after I finished it, and it made me wish magic was real more than any other book has done. This was the first year I picked up a Neil Gaiman book, and he’s immediately become one of my favourite authors.

WWW 17082016.3

BecauseΒ I didn’t enjoy ADSoM and AGoS as much, I went in with low expectations but This Savage Song made up for it. It was so beautifully written, and I found an insane amount of quotes for my little red book! The sequel is on my insta-buy list, and I’m really looking forward to it.

WWW 31082016.2

This was another one for my little red book. The writing style in this was different than most books I’ve read but stunning, and I ended up with so many quotes I loved! Along with The Name of the Wind and Six of Crows, this book is my happy place. If I’m ever stuck in my own writing, I leave through this, and it makes everything better ^-^

What are your favourite reads this year? If you were to recommend only one book (… fine, make it two), which would it be?

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”-

For all my book reviews, please take a look here.

For Cookie Break’s home page, click me!

