www-07122016

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

WWW WednesdayThis meme will be categorised together with my book reviews. All links will get you to the book’s Goodreads listing, as always 🙂

No outlandish amount of books in my post this week! We’re back to the normal three! 😀

***

What I’m currently reading

www-07122016-2

Surrender

I only just started this yesterday so I’m not very far into it yet. I loved the first book in this trilogy so I’m confident that I’ll devour this one, too! It’s the final one of my three ARCs, so after this one I can get back to my ever-growing book stack!

Blurb:

Sophia Woodville’s life is anything but ordinary. You can’t be ordinary when you’ve discovered your’e an Earth-born Angel. Alone and suddenly powerless in the stinking heat of the Daimon realm, Sophia has been betrayed by the one person she trusted most. She must find a way to escape and continue her quest to unravel the clues left for her eyes only, fighting the Zombie-like Rogues to preserve the prophecies of Enoch. Only then can the Fallen Angels return to their homeland and humanity be released from the grip of Yeqon and his evil horde.

***

What I recently finished reading

www-07122016-3

Eléonore

Eléonore is the second of my aforementioned ARCs 🙂 I had such high expectations for this, and it smashed all of them ❤ My full review is out tomorrow, or you can find it now on Goodreads.

Blurb:

Eléonore Dormant’s life is a precarious balancing act: librarian by day, demon hunter by night and single mother around the clock. Each day brings its challenges and she brings her A-game. It helps that coffee and a bottle of painkillers are always in supply.
For six years, she’s protected the streets of Montreal from all manner of demons and the consequent evil that they would wreak on her city. But even a resumé like hers isn’t enough to prepare her for the unforeseen night when she becomes the hunted.
A sorcerer, an enigmatic Elder, has placed a hefty bounty on her head and the demons are eager to claim the reward for her capture. They bear down on her, disrupting her mode de vie and endangering her son’s life all in one fell swoop. But Eléonore is ready to fight whatever Hell deigns to send her way to save him. The path she pursues will lead her to new places and old faces.
One thing is certain, Eléonore’s about to get into a whole hellhole of trouble.

and…

www-09112016-4Fay Storms

Fay Storms is the first ARC. Because it won’t be out until next year my review here will have to wait, but you can already find it on Goodreads if you wish 🙂 It’s a confident debut novel with a couple of smaller flaws, but nothing that stopped me from reading. Many of the sentences were too long for my liking and I’m still not sure how I felt about the main character Fifer, but the world building and its history were excellent! I definitely recommend keeping an eye out for it next year 🙂

Blurb:

Thief by trade. Half-breed by blood. Fifer is part-Fay and all pluck.

When her partner goes missing and she is abducted by demanding clients, Fifer finds herself trapped in a plot she wants no part of. By fulfilling her contract with the Aestus, the brotherhood of powerful and secretive warriors, she will discover that she’s not what she thinks.

The Aestus need her—even though Arkadius, Master in training, can’t see it. In order to stop the Aestus clans from warring among themselves, Arkadius must rely on Fifer to steal a powerful magical artifact. But how can a woman save the mighty Aestus? When he discovers the answer, the fate of the Empire will rest on the edge of his sword.

and…

www-23112016-2The Colour of Magic

This was exactly what I needed, when I needed it. It was every bit as mad as you might expect, and I really enjoyed my first trip to the Discworld! (although, you know, I could have sworn I’ve read the second book earlier this year…) I’ve been assured by several people that they only get better, so I’m really looking forward to reading the other forty over the next three to fifteen years 🙂

Blurb:

In the beginning there was…a turtle.

Somewhere on the frontier between thought and reality exists the Discworld, a parallel time and place which might sound and smell very much like our own, but which looks completely different. Particularly as it’s carried though space on the back of a giant turtle (sex unknown). It plays by different rules.

But then, some things are the same everywhere. The Disc’s very existence is about to be threatened by a strange new blight: the world’s first tourist, upon whose survival rests the peace and prosperity of the land. Unfortunately, the person charged with maintaining that survival in the face of robbers, mercenaries and, well, Death, is a spectacularly inept wizard…

***

What I think I’ll read next

www-14092016-4The Night Circus

Well. Technically I’m reading this now and have been for a couple of weeks. However, with two ARCs being published this month I had to put it on hold for the moment. I only got to page 67 so I might just start over when I’m done with Surrender. I have not given this beauty the attention it deserves and will make up for that as soon as I can. It might be my first read of 2017 at this point, but what better way to start the new year? ❤

Blurb:

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love – a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.

***

Have you read any of these and would like to chat about it? I look forward to hearing from you if you do – just leave a comment below and we can get this book club started!

