banner-tuesday-13122016

A couple of weeks ago I gave a shout-out to my favourite reads this year – and today I’m doing exactly the same thing, but for the incredible indie authors I’ve discovered this year!

I know we indie authors don’t always have a good reputation, due to the ease of self-publishing. That’s why I’m hoping that you’re going to take away some great recommendations from today’s post! A lot of us really do put our backs and souls into our books, and all of the novels below are great examples of indie authors who’ve done just that.

evo-shift-jpeg

EVO Shift was my second read by K. J. Chapman, and the sequel to her debut novel EVO Nation. They’re fast paced, the characters are beautifully developed (especially Yana) and there are plot twists and cliff hangers everywhere!

The Siblings

The Siblings is A. Morgan’s exciting, fast-paced, action-packed debut novel. As the title suggests, it’s about a brother and a sister in a dystopian future, where intense sun radiation has destroyed much of civilisation. They get separated, and discover terrible truths about the survival of humanity.

TheMakingofGabrielDavenport

I couldn’t believe this was self-published, it’s that good. If a dark urban fantasy with demons, shadows and sexy vampires (the traditional, awesome, dangerous kind, not the sparkly fairy kind) sounds like your thing I beg you to give this one a go. You won’t regret it.

WWW 29062016.2

30114300

WWW 17082016.4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I devoured all three of these. Infernal Ties is the prequel novella, so it won’t take you long at all to decide if this series is for you! I’m looking forward to reading the final book next year, too. It features beautifully vivid mentions of Prague, and the character development is superb!

WWW27072016.3

I found so many amazing indie books this year simply because I know the authors on my various social media hangouts, and Awaken was one of them. I loved the plot immensely, and am really glad I decided to pick it up. While it has some religious sub tones they are very slight and background info more than anything, and didn’t in any way effect my enjoyment of the book (being not religious myself at all). The writing had a strange familiar feel to it, and I flew through it!

WWW 27072016.4

I hadn’t read urban gothic before (although, The Making of Gabriel Davenport can probably also fall into that category) so I had no expectations going in, but I loved every moment of it. It was dark, it had funny moments, and – best of all – the MC Phoebe’s sarcasm matched my own! I’ve got the sequel Crescent Moon waiting for me now, and am really excited to get to it.

www-12102016

Having read Chapman’s EVO Nation series I was looking forward to seeing how she handled high fantasy. This is her first novel in the genre, and with magic and prophecy playing such a huge part in it she’s handled it rather well! If you love destined lovers, prophecy and a villain you’ll love to hate, then this is for you!

www-09112016-3

This was two kinds of firsts for me. I’ve never read erotic novels and I hadn’t read anything by Meldon before, either, so I went in with no expectations. Since this is a novella, and fast-paced, I could easily have read it in one day if my day job wasn’t a thing *shakes fist* It features bothΒ a lot of steamy action and an intriguing plot, which has Aphrodite and Loki solving murder mysteries. You also get a small insight into old religions, which made for interesting side info!www-07122016-3

ElΓ©onore is Faith Riven’s debut novel, but it doesn’t read like one. It’s confident, action-packed and emotional, and I’d have read the whole thing in one sitting if it wasn’t for responsibilities and the day job *shakes fist some more* My review for it went up last week, so do check it out! πŸ™‚

What are your favourite indie reads this year? Which ones would you recommend? Get a tea and some cookies, and let’s chat! πŸ™‚

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”-

For all my book reviews, please take a look here.

For Cookie Break’s home page, click me!

