www-21122016

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

WWW WednesdayThis meme will be categorised together with my book reviews. All links will get you to the book’s Goodreads listing, as always 🙂

I won’t be around much today since I’m off work now and busy relaxing, but I’ll pop in here and there 🙂 Stay safe, my fellow book addicts, and I’ll see you next year! 🙂

***

What I’m currently reading

www-14092016-4

The Night Circus

I doubt I’ll have much time for this before January, to be honest. My parents are coming over Christmas so I don’t know how much time I’ll end up having for it. If I do get a few spare moments here and there I might spend them reading but there’ll be so much else going on, too. I feel bad because I started it a while ago but then three ARCs happened and now I’m on my Christmas break! if it doesn’t happen this year it’ll definitely be my first read of 2017 🙂

Blurb:

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love – a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.

***

What I recently finished reading

www-07122016-2

Surrender

I finished my third and last ARC on Thursday ❤ I really enjoyed it, my review is already up on Goodreads if you want to check it out. It won’t be on here until early January now due to it being the end of the year and due to us all having a food coma in a few days time, so I thought it best to wait.

Blurb:

Sophia Woodville’s life is anything but ordinary. You can’t be ordinary when you’ve discovered your’e an Earth-born Angel. Alone and suddenly powerless in the stinking heat of the Daimon realm, Sophia has been betrayed by the one person she trusted most. She must find a way to escape and continue her quest to unravel the clues left for her eyes only, fighting the Zombie-like Rogues to preserve the prophecies of Enoch. Only then can the Fallen Angels return to their homeland and humanity be released from the grip of Yeqon and his evil horde.

***

What I think I’ll read next

nano-reward-3

Shadow and Bone

This is definite ❤ I got myself the whole trilogy as a reward for winning NaNo after devouring the duology earlier this year, and it’s been a priority since. What better way to start the year? :3

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

***

Have you read any of these and would like to chat about it? I look forward to hearing from you if you do – just leave a comment below and we can get this book club started!

