03022017

It’s been a while since I’ve last done a proper progress update, so I figured it’s about time I update you on how things are going! 🙂

Darkened Light is still resting. I’ll start the edit as soon as Wardens of Archos is with my beta readers – which, you may remember, I thought would happen some time this month. Due to the heavy amount of editing Wardens of Archos needs (it’s never a good sign when you write the first draft and keep thinking ‘It’s fine, I’ll fix it in the edit’) I’ve had to push that date back, but still hope to have a beta version ready for you in late March/early April 🙂 It’s a bit later than I wanted it to be, but I don’t want to rush things. If my edit takes longer, it takes longer. No pressure.

teaoverdose

But what’s taking so long? Well, I’m rewriting a lot of chapters from a different POV. I’ve added another POV altogether, so now you’ll get chapters from Rachael, Cale, Kiana, Kaida, Reeve, and Arnost Lis 😉 Rachael continues to take most of them, but I’d like to think that the others add a lot of additional value, too.

Essentially, there’s a lot of development going on across all areas. Hopefully this means that my next edit (printed out, red pen in hand (and my familiar nibbling on said pen, if my last paper edit taught me anything)) will be a lot smoother, but I don’t want to jinx it 😛

I don’t know why I’ve gotten it stuck in my head that I need to release Book 2 around the same time as Book 1 last year, but I’m trying not to stress over it. It’s not realistic to get it done before May 23rd and I’m reminding myself that that’s okay. I’ve learned a lot since Rise of the Sparrows and all that is flowing into Wardens of Archos, so it only makes sense that it takes longer.

breathe

~ #FictFBFeb17 ~

The talented Faith and my sister in spirit – who blogs over at aliasfaithrivens (visit her blog if you haven’t already!) – has created her own Twitter and Instagram tag called Fictional Flashback February, and it’s a wonderful way for our characters to introduce themselves to you! This month I’m focusing on Doran and Naavah Ora from Darkened Light. They are two very different characters and I’m really excited to show them off! ❤

Here are the first three days of the tag:

Day 1 Introduce your character

day1-doran

day1-naavah-ora

Day 2 First

day-2-doran

day-2-naavah-ora

Day 3Fire

day-3-doran

day-3-naavah-ora

If you’re a writer at any stage in your WIP, I urge you to join us on Twitter, or Instagram, or both! It really is a wonderful tag ❤ More next week!


All gifs from giphy.com

For all previous updates on my books’ progress, click me!

For all of my musings, click me.

For Cookie Break’s front page, take a look here.

